RIVERS OF NIHIL Debut Official Music Video For New Single "Focus"

August 24, 2021, 2 years ago

news heavy metal black death rivers of nihil

RIVERS OF NIHIL Debut Official Music Video For New Single "Focus"

On September 24, Rivers Of Nihil will release their fourth full-length, The Work, via Metal Blade Records. For a preview of the album, a video for the new single "Focus" (directed by David Brodsky) can be viewed below.

Brody Uttley (lead guitar, keyboards) comments: "For the 'Focus' video, we once again recruited Mr. David Brodsky, Allie Woest and the team at MyGoodEye. This video tells the story of an individual in a fractured state of mind confronting the darkest parts of his inner self and battling with a physical manifestation of his deepest fears and concerns; the worst parts of himself. This manifestation represents the presence in all of our heads that tries to pull us down into the throes of self-destructive behavior and patterns of thinking. The creature that he is interacting with becomes more apparent as the video progresses (with the main character slipping deeper into psychosis) until the end when he loses his battle and is plunged down into the blackness once and for all; existing permanently in the prison that his delusions have constructed for him...Perhaps finally at peace, or just as likely: never again at peace. See you guys on tour next month with The Black Dahlia Murder."

Reading, Pennsylvania's Rivers Of Nihil have never fit neatly into a box, but with 2018's Where Owls Know My Name, they transcended all labels applied to them. Returning in 2021 with The Work, they have forged further into new territory, delivering an album that is as cerebral as it is visceral, and that covers a staggering sonic range, definitively placing them in a category of their own. Inarguably a very dense, heavy collection, The Work is far too dynamic to be considered a solely metal record, and there is a genuine warmth that shows through, particularly on "Wait" and the gorgeous "Maybe One Day," and the band have included far more clean vocals alongside the screaming that tears through many of the heavier tracks. Courtesy of their friend Zach Strouse, saxophone once again adds extra layers of atmosphere to the collection, utilizing baritone, soprano and alto saxes to great affect.

With guitars and synths/keys tracked at Uttley's home studio, the band then we went back for the third album in a row to Carson Slovak and Grant McFarland at Atrium Audio to do drums, vocals, bass, sax, and mixing.

"We've done so many sessions with those guys that they're basically an extension of our band at this point. They usually know what we like, and we always encourage them to roast us to make stuff better," says guitarist Brody Uttley.

Alongside the band, James Dorton from Black Crown Initiate provided some vocals on "Episode," Grant McFarland played cello on "The Void From Which No Sound Escapes", and Uttley's friend Stephan Lopez helped out with all of the field recordings, an integral part of the sonic textures of the record.

The Work can be pre-ordered here in the following formats:

- digipak-CD
- deluxe box set (hardcover box includes: CD digipak (w/ bonus track), blue w/ black & white splatter vinyl, 52-page photo book, slipmat, and exclusive download content)
- 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
- silver w/ blue & black splatter vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 500 copies)
- natural clear w/ black & red splatter vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 300 copies)
- crystal clear w/ white & turquoise splatter vinyl (Kings Road exclusive - limited to 200 copies)
- red / white melt vinyl (EMP exclusive - limited to 200 copies)
- transparent orange w/ black swirls vinyl (Eyesore exclusive - limited to 300 copies)
- silver / black marbled vinyl (Impericon exclusive - limited to 200 copies)
- aqua blue / canary yellow galaxy vinyl (US exclusive)
- white / cyan blue galaxy vinyl (US exclusive)

The Work tracklisting:

"The Tower (Theme from "The Work")"
"Dreaming Black Clockwork"
"The Void from Which No Sound Escapes"
"Tower 2"
"Maybe One Day"
"Terrestria IV: Work"

"Clean" video:

Rivers of Nihil lineup:

Jake Dieffenbach - lead vocals
Brody Uttley - lead guitar, keyboards
Adam Biggs - bass, backing vocals
Jon Topore - rhythm guitar
Jared Klein - drums, backing vocals

(Photo - Mike Truehart)

Latest Reviews