THE FLOWER KINGS – “The Great Pretender” Drum Playthrough Video Streaming

January 25, 2022, 4 months ago

news hard rock the flower kings

THE FLOWER KINGS – “The Great Pretender” Drum Playthrough Video Streaming

In the video below, The Flower Kings drummer Mirkko DeMaio plays "The Great Pretender" from the album By Royal Decree out on March 4, 2022.

Video and audio recorded at Mirko's Drum Hell drum studios. Mirkko thanks Tama drums, Istanbul Agop cymbals, Remo drumheads, Vic Firth drumsticks.

Swedish prog-rock legends, The Flower Kings, return with the latest full-length offering in their 25-year history, By Royal Decree, out on March 4 via InsideOut Music. Order the album here, and watch a video for the song, "A Million Stars", below.

Roine comments: “Never to shy away from simple melody, this is The Flower Kings at their more accessible end, but still with a trademark TFK sound and symphonic textures.”

The group’s third studio record since introducing drummer Mirko DeMaio and keyboardist Zach Kamins into the lineup is a vintage affair in many respects. With virtually no touring to endeavour upon for the last two years, the band was free to focus on recording new material, as well as reviewing things left on the cutting room floor from previous sessions.

Lead singer and guitarist Roine Stolt elaborates on going into the way back machine for the new record, saying, “It was great to dig into that old treasure island of 'forgotten TFK music before TFK ever existed’ and re-connecting made me realize why and what The Flower Kings are. This album is a journey through my history as a writer and my ‘middle age’ saga reflecting on that.”

Another significant change is that founding member Michael Stolt returns after more than two decades to contribute bass and vocals, splitting duties with current bassist Jonas Reingold.

Available on Limited 2CD Digipal, Limited 180g 3LP+2CD Box-set & as Digital Album.


Disc 1
"The Great Pretender"
"World Gone Crazy"
"A Million Stars"
"The Soldier"
"The Darkness In You"
"We Can Make It Work"
"Peacock On Parade"

Disc 2
"Time The Great Healer"
"Silent Ways"
"The Big Funk"
"Open Your Heart"
"Funeral Pyres"

"The Great Pretender":

(Photo - Lillian Forsberg)

Featured Audio

ANVIL – “Ghost Shadow” (AFM)

ANVIL – “Ghost Shadow” (AFM)

Featured Video

DIRTY SHIRT – “Dope-A-Min”

DIRTY SHIRT – “Dope-A-Min”

Latest Reviews