METALLICA Bassist ROBERT TRUJILLO To Promote Jaco Documentary With Loyola University Appearance

October 20, 2015, 8 years ago

news riff notes jaco pastorius robert trujillo metallica

METALLICA Bassist ROBERT TRUJILLO To Promote Jaco Documentary With Loyola University Appearance

Metallica bassist Robert Trujillo visits Loyola University New Orleans on Thursday, October 22nd to discuss the making of the forthcoming film JACO, about the legendary bassist Jaco Pastorius who died tragically at age 35.

The world-renowned will speak to Loyola students and friends from 2 to 3:15 p.m. in Nunemaker Hall, located in the newly renovated Monroe Hall at Loyola, 6363 St. Charles Ave. The pair will be interviewed Inside The Actor’s Studio style by Jim Gabour, director of Loyola’s newly launched digital filmmaking undergraduate degree program. The event is held in conjunction with the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences and Grammy U.

Gabour, a Grammy-nominated filmmaker, will intersperse his interview with clips from JACO, offering glimpses of the legendary bassist, as well as award-winning musician Herbie Hancock, and Michael “Flea” Balzary, bassist for the Red Hot Chili Peppers, among others. The focus will be on the making of the film. The talk will be followed by a question-and-answer session with the audience.

Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release JACO: Original Soundtrack on Friday, November 27th. Pre-order links below.

A single-disc collection of music from the forthcoming documentary film, JACO, the JACO: Original Soundtrack premieres three brand-new recordings including two riveting interpretations of Jaco classics: "Come On Come Over" by Mass Mental (featuring Robert Trujillo, Armand Sabal-Lecco, Flea, Whit Crane, Benji Webbe, Stephen Perkins & C-Minus) and "Continuum" by Rodrigo y Gabriel; and "Shine," the new track by Tech N9ne containing a sample of "Kuru," as recorded by Jaco Pastorius.
Produced by Robert Trujillo and Jaco's eldest son John Pastorius IV, JACO: Original Soundtrack brings together 16 essential recordings including Jaco Pastorius solo tracks, Weather Report masterpieces and musical collaborations with Joni Mitchell, Ian Hunter, Herbie Hancock and more. The album offers music fans the rare evocative sonic soundscape, "Longing," featuring Jaco's daughter Mary Pastorius (vox), Chuck Doom (bass), Robert Thomas, Jr. (hand drums/drum kit) and God (rain/thunder).
A full-length documentary film chronicling the life, music and ongoing influence of the mythic electric bass pioneer Jaco Pastorius, JACO is produced by Robert Trujillo (bassist: Metallica, Infectious Grooves, Mass Mental) John Pastorius IV, Bob Bobbing, and John Battsek of Passion Pictures (Searching for Sugar Man, Project Nim) and marks the directorial debut of documentary filmmaker Paul Marchand and Stephen Kijak (Scott Walker: 30 Century Man, Cinemania). JACO incorporates interviews with musical visionaries including Sting, Joni Mitchell, Flea, Jerry Jemmott, Bootsy Collins, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Carlos Santana and others with never-before-seen photos and films from the Pastorius family archive. This extraordinary film reveals the story behind Jaco's life and music, both as a solo artist and member of Weather Report, the tragic arc of his demise and early death and the enduring influence and inspiration of his artistry and genius.
Legacy's JACO: Original Soundtrack includes liner notes on Jaco Pastorius penned by Robert Trujillo and album co-producer Chuck Doom.
Also slated for consumer home release on November 27th, JACO, the documentary, will be available via VOD, streaming services, digital download and on DVD and Blu-ray.
JACO had its world premiere earlier this year at Austin's SxSW Film Conference & Festival, accompanied by a panel discussion featuring filmmakers Trujillo and Marchand as well as longtime Pastorius collaborator Peter Erskine (Weather Report, Word of Mouth) and Executive Producer John Pastorius.

JACO: Original Soundtrack tracklisting:

“Come On, Come Over” - Jaco Pastorius
“Continuum” - Jaco Pastorius
“River People” - Weather Report
“Teen Town” - Weather Report
“Portrait Of Tracy” - Jaco Pastorius
“The Dry Cleaner From Des Moines” (Live Version) - Joni Mitchell
“All American Alien Boy” - Ian Hunter
“Liberty City” (with Herbie Hancock) - Jaco Pastorius
“Okonkole Y Trompa” - Jaco Pastorius
“Barbary Coast” - Weather Report
“Crisis” - Jaco Pastorius
“Longing” - Mary Pastorius
“Nineteen Eighty Seven” - †††
“Shine” - Tech N9ne
“Continuum” - Rodrigo y Gabriela
“Come On Come Over” - Mass Mental (featuring Robert Trujillo, Armand Sabal-Lecco, Flea, Whit Crane, Benji Webbe, Stephen Perkins & C-Minus)


Featured Video

KELEVRA - "The Distance"

KELEVRA - "The Distance"

Latest Reviews